The Provincial Legislatures may also make laws under Sect. 95 in relation to agriculture and immigration, subject to any laws of the Parliament of Canada in relation to these subjects.

Provincial Franchise.—Details regarding qualifications and disqualifications of the franchise are contained in the Elections Act of each province. In general, every person, male or female, at the age of 21 years who is a Canadian citizen or a British subject, who complies with certain residence requirements in the province and the electoral district of polling and who falls under no statutory disqualifications, is entitled to vote. These qualifications apply with modifications to voters in most provinces. The principal exceptions give voting privileges to persons in Saskatchewan at the age of 18 and in Alberta and British Columbia at 19 years.

## Subsection 1.-Newfoundland

The Government of Newfoundland consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Legislative Assembly has 36 members elected for a term of five years. The Legislature elected Aug. 20, 1959 is the 32nd in the history of Newfoundland and the 4th since Confederation.

Since the date of Confederation, Mar. 31, 1949, the province has had three Lieutenant-Governors: the Hon. Sir Albert Joseph Walsh commissioned Apr. 1, 1949; the Hon. Lt.-Col. Sir Leonard Outerbridge commissioned Sept. 5, 1949; and the Hon. Campbell Macpherson commissioned Dec. 16, 1959. The first Ministry, formed on July 13, 1949 under the leadership of the Hon. Joseph R. Smallwood, was still in office on Oct. 31, 1959.

The Premier receives a salary of \$10,000 and the other Cabinet Ministers \$9,000 per annum, plus a sessional indemnity of \$3,333.33. Each member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$3,333.33 plus a travelling and expense allowance of \$1,666.66. An additional allowance of \$3,000 is made to the Leader of the Opposition.

## 15.—First Ministry of Newfoundland, as at Oct. 31, 1959

(Party standing at latest General Election, Aug. 20, 1959: 31 Liberal, 3 Progressive Conservative and 2 United Newfoundland.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and Minister of Economic Development. Attorney General. Minister of Mines and Resources. Minister of Labour. Minister of Labour. Minister of Fublic Welfare and Minister of Health.  Minister of Finance. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Highways. Minister without Portfolio. Minister of Provincial Affairs and Solicitor General. Minister of Fisheries. Minister of Municipal Affairs and Supply. Minister of Education.	Hon. J. R. SMALLWOOD Hon. L. R. CURTIS Hon. W. J. KEOUGH HON. C. H. BALLAM HON. J. M. MCGRATH HON. E. S. SPENCER HON. J. R. CHALKER HON. F. W. ROWE HON. P. J. LEWIS HON. MYLES P. MURRAY HON. J. T. CHEESEMAN HON. B. J. ABBOTT HON. G. A. FRECKER	July 29, 1949 Apr. 4, 1950 July 5, 1956 July 29, 1949 Apr. 4, 1950 May 21, 1952 Dec. 15, 1951	Apr. 1, 1949 Apr. 1, 1949 Apr. 1, 1949 May 1, 1957 Apr. 4, 1950 (July 5, 1956 May 1, 1957 May 1, 1957 May 1, 1957 May 11, 1959 Dec. 15, 1951 Apr. 10, 1955 May 1, 1957 Aug. 26, 1959

<sup>1</sup> Minister not necessarily sworn in on date of appointment.